The 3DS Games that convinced me Stereoscopic 3D is Dope

James Cosby
6 min readAug 31, 2021

Autostereoscopy is any method of displaying stereoscopic images (adding binocular perception of 3D depth) without the use of special headgear or glasses on the part of the viewer. Because headgear is not required, it is also called “glasses-free 3D” or “glassesless 3D”.”- Wikipedia

Autostereoscopic 3D is seemingly dead. Outside of VR, 3D just doesn’t move the needle anymore. I was never super hype about the 3D function of the 3DS because as a glasses wearer 3D has never been super important or available to me. If I take my glasses off and put on 3D glasses I can’t see anything. I am not wearing 2 pairs of glasses because it rarely works out well either. All of this to say I have had a 2DS and been enjoying the library of the 3DS for years…in 2D. Lately I realize that this was a mistake. I recently got a cheap 3DS on Mercari and it’s blown my mind. Glasses free 3D is everything I ever wanted and these three games convinced me- 3D Outrun, 3D Classics Excitebike, and Starfox 64 3D.

Source: Nintendo

The three games I listed are titles that I already loved and had nostalgia for. I didn’t need new versions nor did I think they could be improved. 3D changed my perception of them and I think the 3DS versions of these games are the pinnacle of these games.

Source: Nintendo Life

3D Outrun- I may be wrong but my assumption is that the Sega super scaler games were always meant to be in 3D. The Master System had a 3D port of Outrun and it feels like the scrolling effect of that game, Power Drift, Afterburner and Space Harrier (to name a few) were trying to replicate the depth of 3D. In my opinion, Outrun is a perfect arcade game. It’s a game so good that even the uneven console ports don’t tarnish it’s legacy. The Saturn and Dreamcast versions of Outrun were the gold standards of the game due to their arcade perfect ports with the ability to play Outrun in 60fps. The M2 ports are amazing in their own right even without 3D but the 3D in Outrun actually makes the game look better. Seeing the Not-Ferrari Testarossa careening down highways that used to be flat backdrops but are now fully realized spaces with depth…it’s breathtaking. It feels like a different experience from original Outrun and all of the third-person racers of that era. The port also adds a “new mode” where you unlock different car colors and upgrades as you finish races which is a nice touch. Super Scalers already had a neat 3D-like effect utilizing the scrolling and perspective, with the stereoscopic effect it really brings it all together.

Source: Nintendo

3D Classics Excitebike- Excitebike is a game I played as a kid. It may be my first gaming memory from the NES. Full disclosure, I think Excitebike is pretty boring now. It was a really exciting game when I played it as a kid because dirt bikes are cool and it was very different than Mario. In practice, it’s a time trial game where you go left to right over triangles and squares. Excitebike takes that formula and extracts every bit of fun you can out of it but for me, it doesn’t hold up extremely well. Until you put it in 3D! 3D Classics Excitebike is wild! As you increase the depth of the 3D, the visible area of the arena actually increases!

Source: IGN

You can control the level of 3D the track obstacles are and the 3D literally adds to the game. I have spent more time than I would like to admit just playing with the 3D slider in Excitebike. It just feels like magic watching the arena expand with the slider and no other 3D classic games really replicate that effect. 3D Classics Urban Champion comes the closest but that game is somehow worse than Excitebike…

Source: Nintendo

Star Fox 64 3D- Star Fox 64 was already fantastic. Where Mario Kart 64 is actually the worst Mario Kart that’s carried by nostalgia, Star Fox 64 is the best Star Fox game. It’s an on-rails shooter that has occasional “free-flight” modes where you can explore the full 3D space. This is the only polygonal 3D game on this list. Star Fox 64 is a good looking N64 game but seeing how clean and amazing the graphics look on the 3DS is a revelatory experience. The unwavering abyss of space is also really effective in stereoscopic 3D. The stars dotting the sky at varying depths always looks incredible and really captures the feel of being surrounded by space. Flying through the rings, having enemies pop up from behind you and the giant boss ships popping out at you do a great job of accentuating the power of the 3DS and what the 3D can bring to the table. Star Fox 64 (as well the previous 2 titles) also benefit from being bite-sized experiences that can be beaten quickly and are also easy to play in quick burst. For me, long sessions with the 3D on was a very painful experience for my eyes but I already have troubled vision. These games also don’t suffer as much from the framerate hit that a lot of games took with the 3D.

Source: Kotaku Aus (Dead or Alive Dimensions)

I justified moving on to a 2DS XL over a 3DS proper because I wanted a large screen, better battery and the best frame rates. What I realized was that I was neglecting the most unique experiences the system had to offer. Dead or Alive: Dimensions for the 3DS is incredible with the slider turned up, the same goes for Street Fighter 4. Are those the best ways to play a fighting game? No, but I would argue you aren’t playing a competitive fighter on handheld to get ready for Evo so enjoy the cinematic experience they are providing. Power Drift, Streets of Rage, Sonic 1 and 2, Kirby, and so many already classic 2D games are greatly enhanced in stereoscopic 3D. It’s one of the rare experiences in gaming where the medium truly matters. You can’t emulate the 3D, you can’t replicate it on a gaming PC. Power Drift already felt like a roller coaster but with that 3D slider up it is absurd! I am not even delving into Super Mario 3D Land, which is the best Mario game since Super Mario Bros. 3. The 3D in Super Mario 3D Land wasn’t just a gimmick, it was a tool to fully explore the level design.

Source: Nintendo

Autostereoscopic 3D is dead. Long live Autostereoscopic 3D. It’s dope.

--

--

James Cosby

My education is in Counseling (M. Ed). I love the Browns, Knicks, Retro Gaming, and Pro Wrestling. I've been a student affairs professional for a decade.